Finn Geipel

Born in Stuttgart, Germany; graduated from Technisches Universität Stuttgart, 1987.

He founded LABFAC as a collective with Bernd Hoge and Jochen Hunger in Stuttgart in 1983, and in 1987 opened the studio LABFAC Paris with Nicolas Michelin. Time, openness, adaptability and context-specificity are important themes in his work, as apparent in early projects including the design for a temporary roof for the Nîmes arena, and the École nationale supérieure d'Art de Limoges.

In 2001 he formed LIN together with Giulia Andi, and in 2000 initiated LIA (Laboratory for Integrative Architecture), the research branch of LIN.

As founding partner at  LIN he has been instrumental in leading multidisciplinary teams in very context specific projects like Alveole 14, Cité du design and Grand Paris Metropole Douce. Other imporatnt projects in his work include The temprary roof over the Nîmes Arena, Synchron, National School of art in Limoges, Cornouailles Theater Quimper, Oldenburg House and POL office building in Paris. In addition to this he has headed numerous urban design projects and studies.

Geipel heads LIA at Technisches Universität Berlin, where he is a full-time professor. He has also taken part in numerous guest-teaching positions as a visiting professor at École Spéciale d'Architecture (ESA) Paris, Escola Tècnica Superior d'Arquitectura (ESARQ) Barcelona, Columbia University New York and Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Boston-Cambridge.

Since 2012 he has been a member of the cluster of excellence “Bild Wissen Gestaltung – Ein interdisziplinäres Labor” at the Humboldt Universität Berlin, which combines 22 different disciplines in forming a sustainable scientific research platform. He is also a member of the scientific advisory board for the Atelier International du Grand Paris (AIGP).

Finn Geipel has been awarded the Grande Médaille d’Argent Prix Dejean (1999), the Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres (2006), the Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur (2010) and the Prix Spécial de l’Équerre d’Argent (2010).